Info

The Pageist - BDSM & Sex-Positive Book Reviews

The Pageist is a podcast about books on BDSM and other forms of non-traditional sexual expression and relationships. Books reviewed include fiction, non-fiction and graphic novels; range from classics to contemporary works and feature topics like ethical non-monogamy, sex work, gender issues, kink and the science of sex. Authors, sex educators and experienced kinksters make occasional appearances, as well.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2017
December
November
October
September
August
June
May
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: April, 2016
Apr 24, 2016

Episode the Eleventh: Wherein The Pageist talks porn: lesbian porn, BDSM porn, porn for men... no book review this week, though, as she is preparing for a more involved episode about two books by Gloria Brame.

The Pageist Fetlife Group: https://fetlife.com/groups/141222

Podcast & Radio Addict: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bambuna.podcastaddict&hl=en

Power Exchange Summit: http://www.powerexchangesummit.org/

A Couple of Kinks: http://acoupleofkinks.com/

Hole Punch Toys: http://www.holepunchtoys.com/shop/

Hey Epiphora: http://www.heyepiphora.com/2016/04/review-hole-punch-toys/

Episode 002 Playing Well with Others: http://thepageist.com/2016/01/12/episode-002-playing-well-and-nipples/

Lesbian Porn for Men vs Lesbian Porn for Lesbians: An Annotated List: http://thepageist.com/2015/07/05/lesbian-porn-for-men-vs-for-lesbians/

Oh Joy Sex Toy Crash Pad Review: http://www.ohjoysextoy.com/crashpad/

Oh Joy Sex Toy Crash Pad Set Visit: http://www.ohjoysextoy.com/porn-set-visit/

Porn for Men: http://thepageist.com/2015/11/08/porn-for-men/

Finding the Lesbians on Kink.comhttp://thepageist.com/2015/05/31/finding-the-lesbians-on-kink-com/

Apr 13, 2016

Episode the Tenth; wherein the Pageist invites everyone to her Fetlife group, meets her first human puppy and rethinks her entire philosophy of coming out. 

The book reviewed this episode was the mind-expanding Coming Out Like a Porn Star: Essays on Pornography, Protection and Privacy by Jiz Lee, a collection of essays by 57 people involved in various aspects of the porn industry. Contributors ranged from decades-long members of the sex work industry to someone trying to break in and everything in-between. Sexualities and genders also vary widely. The stories are funny, philosophical, heartbreaking, infuriating and hopeful. 

PodTrac Survey: http://thepageist.com/podcast/

The Pageist Fetlife Group: https://fetlife.com/groups/141222

The People of Kink guest hosted by The Pageist: http://thepeopleofkink.libsyn.com/tpok-175-the-pageist-interviewing-bodhi

The Cage: https://thecage.co

Power Exchange Summit: http://www.powerexchangesummit.org/

Erotic Awakening Episode 391 Daddy Grrl (includes sensual domination and sensual humiliation): http://eroticawakening.libsyn.com/ea391-daddy-grrl

Erotic Awakening Episode 376 Puppy Play with Sir Justin: http://eroticawakening.libsyn.com/ea376-puppy-play-with-sir-justin

ThreeL Media: http://threelmedia.com/

ThreeL Media books on Amazon:

Coming Out Like a Porn Star: http://www.amazon.com/Coming-Out-Like-Porn-Star/dp/0990557162/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1460429609&sr=8-1&keywords=threel+media

Unshaven: Modern Women, Natural Bodies: http://www.amazon.com/Unshaven-Modern-Women-Natural-Bodies/dp/099055712X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1460429609&sr=8-2&keywords=threel+media

Carnal Anomaly: Transhuman Form and Flesh: http://www.amazon.com/Carnal-Anomaly-Transhuman-Form-Flesh/dp/0990557146/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1460429609&sr=8-3&keywords=threel+media

Love Not Given Lightly: Profiles from the Edge of Sex: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Not-Given-Lightly-Profiles-ebook/dp/B00PSSK13K/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1460429609&sr=8-4&keywords=threel+media

Tina Horn on Twitter: @tinahornsass 

Jon Millward Study of Names: http://jonmillward.com/blog/studies/deep-inside-a-study-of-10000-porn-stars/

 

Lily Cade on Cracked: http://www.cracked.com/personal-experiences-1816-6-things-you-learn-as-lesbian-porn-star.html

 

Lance Hart (Who doesn't have an essay in the book, but his piece on Cracked is great): http://www.cracked.com/personal-experiences-1386-5-reasons-being-male-porn-star-less-fun-than-it-looks.html

1